An all-you-can-eat buffet restaurant denounces a customer’s “nasty” review on TripAdvisor

The Gurkha buffet restaurant on Waterloo Road in Blackpool was hailed for its ‘excellent’ staff and ‘very relaxed atmosphere’ until a ‘very rude’ customer took to TripAdvisor to criticize its offering.

The Gurkha buffet restaurant on Waterloo Road in Blackpool has been hailed for its ‘excellent’ staff and ‘very relaxed atmosphere’

Owners of an all-you-can-eat restaurant have hit back after a customer said staff were ‘very rude’.

The Gurkha buffet restaurant on Waterloo Road in Blackpool has been hailed for its ‘excellent’ staff and ‘very relaxed atmosphere’, but not all customers seem to agree.

Serving a variety of dishes including Chinese, Indian, Nepalese and Thai cuisine, the buffet is located just minutes from the beachfront and has been a hit with many customers, reports Lancs Live.

The restaurant offers a variety of cuisines at fixed prices, with adults being charged less than £16 on peak days.

Many previous guests have praised the quality of the food at the restaurant which is currently rated 4.5 out of 5 on TripAdvisor.







The restaurant offers a variety of cuisines at fixed prices, with adults being charged less than £16 on peak days.
(

Picture:

SOPA Images/LightRocket via Getty Images)


Out of 439 reviews, 335 guests rated their stay at The Gurkha as “Excellent” and 53 as “Very good”.

Some of the most recent have been five-star reviews, praising the buffet restaurant.

A customer wrote; “Staff were excellent and very attentive, tables were clean and tidy, empty plates were removed by the time you returned with your next dish.

“The food was excellent and very hot. Good choice and lots of options for the kids.

“The Lamb Gurkha curry was amazing but not for the faint hearted as it has a good kick.

“The decor is superb with lots of Gurkha memorabilia and war memorabilia.

“Very relaxed atmosphere you will not be disappointed.

“We are going back this week in Blackpool and looking forward to another great meal with family and friends.”







The restaurant owners took umbrage at the bad review
(

Picture:

Bloomberg via Getty Images)


Another person commented: “We were visiting Blackpool for the weekend and were craving some good food.

It was the best buffet restaurant we have ever been to. The food was hot. Not lukewarm. Big choice. Friendly staff. Nice relaxed atmosphere.”

Another added: “8 of us went to the buffet on Wednesday March 18.

“Some of our group had never eaten Nepalese/Indian before but really enjoyed their meals and had a chance to try something different.

“The staff were very attentive and helpful. Good value for money and well worth a visit.”

However, one customer who visited in March did not seem happy with the service he received and wrote a negative review calling the restaurant “Terrible”.

They wrote; “We were greeted at the door, a woman behind reception very rude and abrupt told us we had to move the tables halfway through the meal as the table was then reserved, the food was nowhere near as good as it was she has been in the past, very VERY disappointed.”

The Mirror newsletter brings you breaking news, exciting showbiz and TV stories, sports updates and essential political information.

The newsletter is sent by e-mail first thing every morning, noon and every evening.

Never miss a moment by signing up to our newsletter here.

The owners of The Gurkha didn’t seem to agree with the review and decided to clarify some things in their own response.

They wrote: “We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent dining experience at Gurkha.

The receptionist informed me of the situation, however, we did not expect to receive a bad review from you as you did not complain at the time or report it to the manager.

They said: “We are also sorry that you found the receptionist to be rude and abrupt – unfortunately, English being her second language, we understand that it can sometimes be perceived that way.

“We apologize for asking you to move the tables 50 minutes later, however, remember we were actually asking you to move to a larger, nicer and more private table near the window.

To compensate for the inconvenience, we even informed you that you could stay longer beyond the 90-minute restore limit, which you declined.

Read more

Read more

Comments are closed.